The build-up to the second season of South Africa's premier T20 cricket tournament, the SA20 has begun, with all six franchises announcing their pre-signed players as the pre-signing window came to a close.

Paarl Royals have retained a strong core of four players - including David Miller who led the Royals in the inaugural edition. The four-player list also includes Obed McCoy, who missed out last season due to injury. However, the Royals have maintained their faith in the West Indies pacer who will be hopeful to represent the Boland Park-based franchise this time around.

With the pre-signing announcement done and dusted, the teams can now move to the next stage of preparation, for which they have until July 31. During this time, the franchises will have the following options:

- Trade South African players with other teams

- Retain overseas players purchased at the season one auction who were on option contracts, or choose against retaining the player so that they can open a slot for the auction

- Buy out players, whether South African or overseas, still under contract to open up a slot in their squad. The player would then go back into the auction.

Additionally, each franchise will have an increased salary cap of R39.1m for the second season. The six teams will have to finalise their pre-auction squads by August 1, which will also determine the remaining amount left in their purse for the auction scheduled for late September.